Malaysian Style Sweet Pork Ribs

9 Aug

A few years ago I was watching a cooking show on TV when the host prepared a Malaysian style sweet pork. ribs I’m really sorry, but I just can’t remember neither the name of the show nor of the chef (all I do remember is that he was wearing a T-shirt that looked at least 2 sizes smaller). As a matter of fact, I’m not even sure if it was a Malaysian dish or from some other oriental country. Even the recipe, as I didn’t write it down, may now have somewhat evolved. I really don’t know. We at home call it “Malaysian ribs”.

A piece of advice: do it! It’s a question of “taste it and love it”. Up to now it has 100% approval among my friends (ok, give it a discount, after all friends are expected to support you).

Sauté onions, garlic, ginger, chili pepper and cinnamon sticks

Start by sautéing in a large wok, with vegetable oil, some diced onions, garlic, ginger, 1-2 sliced chili peppers and 1-2 cinnamon sticks. Add some pork ribs individually cut and seal them for a couple of minutes. After that add 1/2 cup of soy sauce and let simmer for a couple of minutes. Add around 1-1.5 cups of sugar.

Sealed pork ribs covered with 2 cups of sugar

Immediately after the sugar add 2 cups of a good quality white wine (or apple) vinegar and cover the ribs with cold water.

Pork ribs covered with cold water

Now let the low fire do its thing. Go read a book, watch TV, write a comment on my blog… Ah, the smell may be a bit awkward while the vinegar evaporates.  Don’t pay attention to that.

After around 1 hour this is how they should look like.

Pork ribs after around 1 hour

Hang on, keep leaving your comments on my blog, the ribs are not ready yet. You’ll need around another 30 min. But be careful now, you won’t want the sugar to burn and spoil the whole thing. No, not after all the prep and cooking time. So, watch out for the sauce consistency, specially around 1.5 hours.

Ok, they're ready after around 1.5 hours

If they look like the ones above, getting loose from the bone and with the sauce at the right point, prepare to lick your fingers.

Serve over white rice with some diced scallion.

Malaysian style sweet pork ribs

If you don’t fall in love with that I think you should start looking for a psychiatrist.

Pork Ribs
Malaysian Food

3 Responses to “Malaysian Style Sweet Pork Ribs”

  1. Mauro Rebelo August 18, 2010 at 14:46 #

    Oi, parece uma delícia! Pode me mandar seu e-mail pra eu mandar o convite pra Escola internacional? Um abraço, Mauro

  2. Jonas August 17, 2010 at 17:09 #

    The pictures look outstandingly fantastic. Even though I truly believe this- I have to admit that I am mainly writing this to lure you onto our website. I added your blog to my rss feeds – which means i might come back for another couple seconds on another day, if the post titles sound promising enough. In exchange for that and since we need a few interesting people to help us get off the ground – you should post a few of your flavor compositions on http://www.cuuks.com (and link them to your blog if you like). Hope to hear more from you soon. Best wishes, Jonas

  3. A Wonkey Donkey August 9, 2010 at 14:41 #

    These look amazing and rather simple I cant wait to lick my fingers from them

Leave a Reply

